Faculty Discovery White Paper


In March 2019, then Vice Chancellor Catherine Koshland and Vice Chancellor Stephen Sutton convened a group of faculty, staff, and students in an “Undergraduate Experience Curriculum Work Group.”  Their task was to define the characteristics of “discovery” as a new framework for undergraduate education at UC Berkeley and to further envision how campus, based on the priorities of the Campus Strategic Plan, could expand undergraduate opportunities for discovery. 

In November 2019, the committee produced this downloadable white paper on Discovery as an Undergraduate Experience.

Work Group Team Members

  • (co-chair) Kathleen Donegan: Associate Professor of English & Associate Dean of Arts and Humanities, L&S
  • (co-chair) Renee Chow: Acting Dean, CED
  • Abby Dernburg: Member, UGC & Professor of Cell and Developmental Biology
  • Anne Baranger: Director of Undergraduate Chemistry, Adjunct Professor of Chemistry, & Lecturer SOE

  • Brandi Wilkins Catanese: Associate Professor, Theater, Dance and Performance Studies

  • Bree Rosenblum: Faculty Director, Berkeley Connect & Associate Professor, ESPM

  • Elizabeth Dupuis: Senior Associate University Librarian for Educational Initiatives and User Services

  • Glynda Hull: Chair, Committee on Teaching & Professor of Education

  • Jason Corburn: Professor of City & Regional Planning

  • Kim Shelton: Member, L&S Executive Committee & Associate Professor of Classics

  • Leigh Raiford: Associate Professor, African American Studies

  • Lisa Pruitt: Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering

  • Lynn Huntsinger: Assistant Dean for Instruction and Student Affairs, CNR & Professor, Environmental Science, Policy and Management

  • Naniette Coleman: PhD candidate, Sociology

  • Serena Chen: Berkeley Collegium Faculty Director & Professor of Psychology

Staff Support

  • Leslie Harlson, Executive Director, Berkeley Discovery
  • Les Gorske, Division of Arts and Humanities

Student Focus Group Participants

Quetzalli Calderon, Ryan Chen, Kelly Han, Jason Lam, Michael Liu, Connor Ryan, Rachel Schten, Saneeha Shamshad, Cameron Wright, and Peter Zhang